The annual Walkley Awards are the pinnacle of achievement for Australian journalism. The Walkleys were started by Ampol Petroleum founder Sir William Gaston Walkley in 1956 with just five categories recognising excellence in print journalism. Today there are 30 categories across all platforms, judged with a two-tier process. No matter their era, Walkley Award winning stories have always chronicled Australia’s history, people and events.  To learn more about the Awards please visit the Awards webpage here.